Monthly Pressroom Archives: February 2011

Lindsay NixonThe Happy Herbivore

The Happy Herbivore Cookbook Press

The Happy Herbivore Cookbook (9781935618126) was featured on the Callie Gets Skinny blog (with cover image included). You can see that mention here: http://calliegetsskinny.blogspot.com/2011/02/id-be-very-happy-herbivore.html

The Happy Herbivore Cookbook (9781935618126) was mentioned on Veg News’ new-products blog, “This Just In.” You can see that mention here: http://thisjustinvegnews.blogspot.com/2011/02/vegan-and-green-cookbooks.html

One of the recipes from The Happy Herbivore Cookbook was featured on the popular blog Made Just Right and can be seen here: http://www.madejustright.com/post/black-bean-burgers-from-the-happy-herbivore

Lindsay S. Nixon, author of The Happy Herbivore Cookbook, held the following book signings this year:

  • Slice Perfect in New York City on Tuesday, February 8th from 7pm to 9pm at the Village location
  • Cafe Green in Washington, D.C. on Saturday, February 12th from 11am to 12pm
  • Right By Nature in Pittsburgh on Sunday, February 13th from 2 to 4pm (she will also conduct a cooking demonstration)

ALSO:

Vegetarian Times (circ. 262,368) will feature recipes from The Happy Herbivore Cookbook in an early 2011 issue.

The Happy Herbivore Cookbook was featured on the popular vegan food blog Eco Vegan Gal Monday, February 7, 2011. You can watch a video review of the book here: http://www.ecovegangal.com/2011/02/happy-herbivore-healthy-easy.html

Susan MarkelWhat Your Pediatrician Doesn't Know Can Hurt Your Child

What Your Pediatrician Doesn’t Know Can Hurt Your Child Press

What Your Pediatrician Doesn’t Know Can Hurt Your Child (9781935618102) was featured in a review and giveaway Wednesday, February 23, 2011 on Motherwear’s Breastfeeding Blog. For more on the review and March 2, 2010 giveaway: http://breastfeeding.blog.motherwear.com/2011/02/book-review-and-giveaway-what-your-pediatrician-doesnt-know-can-hurt-your-child.html

What Your Pediatrician Doesn’t Know Can Hurt Your Child (9781935618102) author Susan Markel will be interviewed on March 5, 2011 on Business Talk Radio’s “The Skillful Living Room,” a healthy living program that broadcasts every Saturday from 12 – 1 p.m. EST.

ALSO

Susan was interviewed on Friday, February 18, 2011 on the radio show “The Unplugged Mom” at 8 a.m. EST (http://theunpluggedmom.blogspot.com/p/unplugged-education.html)

Susan was interviewed for a second time on the radio show “Whole Mother” in Houston (KPFT) Monday, January 17, 2011, at 7:30 a.m. EST.

AND

Susan was interviewed Wednesday, January 19, 2011, on the “Healing Talk” radio show that broadcasts live on K-star (KSRR) 1400 am every Wednesday.

What Your Pediatrician Doesn’t Know Can Hurt Your Child (9781935618102) was reviewed (and one copy is being given away) on the popular blog Modern Alternative Mama (http://www.modernalternativemama.com/), which receives 30,000+ monthly page views and has more than 450 subscribers. You can read the review here: http://www.modernalternativemama.com/blog/2010/11/16/what-your-doctor-doesnt-know-can-hurt-your-child-review-and.html

What Your Pediatrician Doesn’t Know Can Hurt Your Child (9781935618102) author Susan Markel was interviewed on the radio show “Whole Mother” in Houston (KPFT) on November 22, 2010 from 6:30-7:00 a.m. CST.

What Your Pediatrician Doesn’t Know Can Hurt Your Child (9781935618102) author Susan Markel was interviewed on “Positive Parenting” on November 17, 2010, at 3:15 EST. You can see more about the Positive Parenting podcasts here: http://www.positiveparentingseries.com/

black-woman-redefined-tpSophia A. Nelson

Black Woman Redefined Press

Sophia A. Nelson, author of Black Woman Redefined (978-1-935618-94-2), was recently interviewed by Roland Martin on TV One regarding the recent Superbowl Pepsi ad and the controversy surrounding it. You can view the entire segment below or at: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MF7TM_Cwk88&feature=player_embedded

Underdogma

Underdogma on FoxNews.com, national radio

An op-ed, “Egyptian Tea Party” by Michael Prell, author of Underdogma, ran on FoxNews.com on Thursday, February 24, 2011. Read it here: http://www.foxnews.com/opinion/2011/02/24/egyptian-protest-tea-party/.

Prell will also be interviewed on the upcoming radio programs in February:

* Feb. 21, 8:30 p.m. ET: “Lars Larson Show” (Nationally syndicated)

* Feb. 23, 5:45 p.m. ET: American Family Radio “Nothing But Truth” (Nationally syndicated)

* Feb. 22, 8:05 a.m. ET: WOIC “On the Radar with Bill Frady” (Columbia, SC)

* Feb. 22, 4:30 p.m. ET: WDRC “Dan Lovallo Show” (Hartford, CT)

* Feb. 23, 4:15, p.m. ET: KFTK “The Dana Show” (St. Louis, MO)

* Feb. 24, 6:40 a.m. ET: WATD “Morning News” (Boston, MA)

* Feb. 24, 10:05 a.m. ET: KLIF “Jeff Bolton” (Dallas, TX)

Fit Soul, Fit Body

Fit Soul, Fit Body press

Fit Soul, Fit Body and authors Mark Allen and Brant Secunda was featured in the Chicago Tribune’s Lessons for Life column on Feb. 17, 2011. Read the article here: http://www.chicagotribune.com/features/tribu/ct-tribu-weigel-seasonal-blues-20110217,0,1440779.column.

Articles featuring tips from Fit Soul, Fit Body ran in the following publications and sites:

* The Daily Breeze: http://www.dailybreeze.com/ci_17464433?IADID=Search-www.dailybreeze.com-www.dailybreeze.com

*About.com: http://entrepreneurs.about.com/od/managingpeople/a/Entrepreneurial-Companies-Can-Be-Pressure-Cookers-Heres-How-To-Avoid-It.htm

*The Sun Daily: http://www.thesundaily.com/article.cfm?id=57559

* Business Insider: http://www.businessinsider.com/10-ways-to-be-happier-and-healthier-at-work-2011-2?slop=1

* Keep America at Work: http://keepamericaatwork.com/?p=30651

* All Business: http://www.allbusiness.com/population-demographics/demographic-groups-working-mothers/15479561-1.html

Allen and Secunda were recently interviewed on the podcast, “Mindful Adventures.” Listen to the interview here: http://mindfuladventures.com/blog/index.php/2011/02/16/fit-soul-fit-body-listen-to-mark-allen-and-brant-secunda-and-find-out-how/.

entrepreneur-equation

The Entrepreneur Equation media

The Entrepreneur Equation was featured in business journals around the U.S. including the Silicon Valley/San Jose Business Journal. Read the article here: http://www.bizjournals.com/sanjose/print-edition/2011/02/18/what-you-need-to-know-to-start-business.html.

The Entrepreneur Equation will be reviewed in the April 2011 issue of SmartCEO.

Carol Roth, author of The Entrepreneur Equation, spoke at Social Media Camp, a conference open to the public to discuss marketing and communications in businesses of all sizes. The event was held in New York on Feb. 9, 2011, and Roth discussed small business and social media.

Roth will be featured on Blog Business World on May 10 at 7 p.m. ET. Listen to the interview here: http://www.blogtalkradio.com/WayneHurlbert.

Roth was a guest on Bigg Success’s podcast on Feb. 15, 2011. Listen to the interview here: http://biggsuccess.com/2011/02/15/carol-roth-on-the-entrepreneur-equation-%E2%80%93-part-1/ and here http://biggsuccess.com/2011/02/16/carol-roth-on-the-entrepreneur-equation-part-2/.

The Entrepreneur Equation was featured on the following sites:

* Business Pundit: http://www.businesspundit.com/6-steps-to-take-before-starting-a-business/

* Point of Contact: http://point-of-contact.blogspot.com/2011/02/best-book-ever-on-entrepreneurship.html

* Think Primed: http://home.thinkprimed.com/archives/1537

* My Venture Pad: http://myventurepad.com/andrewmarshall/65188/entrepreneur-equation-carol-roth

* Making Meditation Your Day Job: http://lenski.com/makingmediationyourdayjob/entrepreneur-equation/

* Successful and Outstanding Bloggers: http://www.successful-blog.com/1/case-study-how-to-passionately-promote-your-product-and-a-cause-you-love/

* Red Head Ranting: http://www.redheadwriting.com/are-you-really-an-entrepreneur

* Predictable Success: http://predictablesuccess.com/blog/the-entrepreneur-equation/

* Extraordinary Mommy: http://www.extraordinarymommy.com/can-we-talk/the-entrepreneur-equation-by-carol-roth-a-pre-launch/

* BenSpark.com: http://www.benspark.com/advice-for-all-entrepreneurs.html

* Promo with Purpose Today: http://pwptoday.com/?p=2051

* Reve news: http://www.revenews.com/angeldjambazov/here-we-go-carol-roths-equation-helps-calculate-your-business-trajectory/

* Crave: http://thecravecompany.com/blog/2011/02/15/the-entrepreneur-equation-carol-roths/

* Creating Devoted Customers with Imaginative Service: http://taketheirbreathaway.typepad.com/creating_devoted_customer/2011/02/check-out-carol-roths-great-new-book.html

* Water Cooler Wisdom: http://alexandralevit.typepad.com/wcw/2011/02/should-you-start-a-business.html

* Joy of Marketing: http://www.thejoyofmarketing.com/blog/yourownboss

* Ramblings from a Glass Half Full: http://www.terrystarbucker.com/2011/02/16/if-the-entrepreneurial-shoe-fits-that-doesnt-mean-you-should-wear-it/

* Synergetic: http://synergetic-solutions.com/the-entrepreneur-equation-do-you-strap-on-those-shoes-or-not/

* The New Small Blog: http://www.thenewsmall.com/management/can-and-should/

* The Literary World: http://jimagnew.net/daily_picks.htm

An article by Roth, “7 ways to mentor a future businesswoman,” was featured on the following sites:

* Dad of Divas: http://dadofdivas.com/guest-post-2/7-ways-to-mentor-a-future-businesswoman

* Modern Mom: http://www.modernmom.com/article/7-ways-to-mentor-a-future-businesswoman

Video reviews of The Entrepreneur Equation were featured on

* Phil Simon: http://ht.ly/3VDM5

* The Idea Vortex: http://ideavortex.com/review-entrepreneur-equation/

* Barry J. Moltz: http://barrymoltz.com/books/the-one-question-to-ask-before-you-start

* Spin Sucks: http://www.spinsucks.com/entrepreneur/the-entrepreneur-equation-a-review-of-carol-roths-book/

* Alexis Neely: http://www.alexismartinneely.com/the-entrepreneur-equation/

the-five-year-party

The Five-Year Party press

The Five-Year Party was featured in the following publications and sites:

* AOL News: http://www.aolnews.com/2011/01/06/opinion-is-college-worth-it/

* National Review Online: http://www.nationalreview.com/phi-beta-cons/255545/murray-sperber-ithe-five-year-partyi-george-leef

* The Sacramento Bee: http://www.sacbee.com/2011/01/19/3333895/is-a-college-degree-the-key-to.html

* Times Union: http://www.timesunion.com/default/article/Dumbed-down-diplomas-972369.php

* Education Week: http://blogs.edweek.org/edweek/walt_gardners_reality_check/2011/01/interview_with_the_author_of_the_five-year_party.html

* National Association of Scholars blog: http://nasblog.org/2010/12/17/murray-sperber-on-craig-brandons-the-five-year-party/

* The John William Pope Center for Higher Education Policy: http://popecenter.org/commentaries/article.html?id=2450

* Fourmilog: http://www.fourmilab.ch/fourmilog/archives/2010-11/001268.html

* The Center for College Affordability and Productivity: http://collegeaffordability.blogspot.com/2010/11/is-pen-mightier-than-sword.html

Craig Brandon, author of The Five-Year Party, was interviewed on New Hampshire Public Radio’s “The Exchange” on Dec. 8, 2010. Listen to the interview here: http://nhpr.org/five-year-party.

The Amazing Monarch

The Amazing Monarch photography exhibit

The Amazing Monarch was featured in an article in the December 2010 issue of the Texas Bar Journal. Read the article here: http://www.texasbar.com/AM/Template.cfm?Section=Texas_Bar_Journal&Template=/CM/ContentDisplay.cfm&ContentID=11931.

Windle Turley, author of The Amazing Monarch, will be featured in a photography exhibit, reception and gallery talk hosted by his alma mater Oklahoma City University on Feb. 21, 2011 at 4 p.m. The exhibit,“One of Nature’s Most Spectacular Migrations: Will it Continue?,” will be on display at the gallery until March 18.

Information about the event and The Amazing Monarch was featured on the following sites:

* Oklahoman’s NewsOK.com: http://newsok.com/article/3541072; http://newsok.com/fine-arts-briefs/article/3541400

* Cheyenne Star: http://thecheyennestar.net/2011/02/17/exhibit-migrates-with-the-butterflies/

* Media OCU: http://mediaocu.com/2011/02/11/exhibit-migrates-with-the-butterflies/

Biocentrism

Biocentrism online hits

Biocentrism was featured on the following sites:

* Evolutionary Mystic – Biocentrism: How Life and Consciousness Are the Keys to Understanding the True Nature of the Universe by Robert Lanza: http://evolutionarymystic.wordpress.com/2011/01/05/biocentrism-how-life-and-consciousness-are-the-keys-to-understanding-the-true-nature-of-the-universe-by-robert-lanza/

* Webxistence – Robert Lanza, MD: Biocentrism and the Existence of God: http://www.webxistence.com/2011/01/robert-lanza-md-biocentrism-and.html

* X News Archive – Biocentrism: How Life and Consciousness are the Keys to Understanding the True Nature of the Universe: http://www.xnewsarchive.com/2011/01/biocentrism-how-life-and-consciousness-are-the-keys-to-understanding-the-true-nature-of-the-universe/

* Cassiopeaea – Biocentrism: Robert Lanza: http://cassiopaea.org/forum/index.php?topic=19794.0

* Hazy Moon Zen Center Los Angeles – Where Am I? What Time Is It?: http://www.hazymoon.com/Articles/WhereAmIWhatTimeIsIt/tabid/163/Default.aspx

* Regenrated Blog – Major Books and Accomplishments of Robert Lanza: http://www.regeneratedmag.com/2011/02/major-books-and-accomplishments-of-robert-lanza.html

* New Thought Info – Biocentrism: How Life and Consciousness Are the Keys to Understanding the True Nature of the Universe: http://newthought.tonsofinfo.com/2011/01/17/biocentrism-how-life-and-consciousness-are-the-keys-to-understanding-the-true-nature-of-the-universe/

* Ye Olde, Inquisitive, Scribe – The Search Continues: http://yeoldeinquisitivescribe.blogspot.com/2011/02/search-continues.html

entrepreneur-equation

Early press for The Entrepreneur Equation

Carol Roth, author of The Entrepreneur Equation, appeared on MSNBC’s “Your Business” on Feb. 13, 2011 on Your Business Answers. Watch the video here: http://www.openforum.com/idea-hub/topics/managing/video/business-answers-getting-clients-to-pay-lessons-learned.

Roth will be featured on the cover of the April 2011 issue of Dolls Magazine covering the release of the book as well as the Carol Roth doll from Integrity Toys. Read the article here: http://www.dollsmagazine.com/manufacturers/integrity-toys/500-the-carol-roth-brand.html.

An article by Roth, “Customer Loyalty 3.0 is the future of customer engagement,” ran on Chicago Business’s blog, Enterprise City, on Feb. 9, 2011. Read the post here: http://www.chicagobusiness.com/section/blogs?blogID=enterprise-city&plckController=Blog&plckBlogPage=BlogViewPost&uid=16ea2629-7e90-46f0-a706-dd6152764513&plckPostId=Blog%3a16ea2629-7e90-46f0-a706-dd6152764513Post%3a616f9d33-5533-4014-8408-7b0ffe7bd73d&plckScript=blogScript&plckElementId=blogDest#axzz1DfhMLv2M.

Roth and The Entrepreneur Equation were featured on “On a Roll with Mike Michalowicz.” Watch the video here: http://www.vimeo.com/19761934.

The Entrepreneur Equation was reviewed by Phil Gerbyshak, author, speaker and social media expert, on Feb. 9, 2011. Read the review here: http://www.philgerbyshak.com/thinking-of-being-an-entrepreneur/?utm_source=feedburner&utm_medium=feed&utm_campaign=Feed%3A+makeitgreat+%28Make+It+Great+with+Phil+Gerbyshak%29.

Roth was mentioned on IFVNews.com on Feb. 11, 2011 for moderating BRIGHTnight, a panel highlighting female entrepreneurship. Read the post here: http://www.ifvnews.com/blogs/female-entrepreneurship-shines-brightnight-panel-discussion-moderator-carol-roth and watch the video here: http://ifvnews.com/video/brightnight-highlights-female-entrepreneurship-panel-discussion-moderator-carol-roth.

Roth was also featured on IFVNews.com’s “Entrepreneurial Wisdom Wednesday” on Feb. 9, 2011. Read the post here: http://www.ifvnews.com/blogs/ifv-vox-entrepreneurial-words-wisdom-carol-roth-carolroth-dot-com-founder-and-the-entrepreneur-equation-author.

An interview with Roth was also featured on the Personal Branding Blog. Read the interview here: http://www.personalbrandingblog.com/personal-branding-interview-carol-roth/.

The Entrepreneur Equation was recently reviewed by Rieva Lesonsky on SmallBizDaily.com. Read the review here: http://smallbizdaily.com/2011/02/15/4403/.

The Entrepreneur Equation will be reviewed by Jim Pawlak “Biz Books” on Feb. 20, 2011.

A press release about The Entrepreneur Equation, “Business Strategist/TV Personality Teams Up with SCORE to Help Grow 1 Million Small Businesses,” was posted on the following sites:

* Yahoo News: http://news.yahoo.com/s/prweb/20110209/bs_prweb/prweb5050094

* I Heart SMB: http://smb.turcott.com/articles/149540/business-strategisttv-personality-teams-up-with-sc/

* Green Revolution: http://greenrevolution.yearsofsunflowers.com/?p=262

* PR Startups: http://prstartups.com/business/business-strategisttv-personality-teams-up-with-score-to-help-grow-1-million-small-businesses/

* Practice Pals: http://practicepals.com/small-business/business-strategisttv-personality-teams-up-with-score-to-help-grow-1-million-small-businesses.htm

* Business News Today: http://businessnewstoday.esiteguide.com/latest-news/business-strategisttv-personality-teams-up-with-score-to-help-grow-1-million-small-businesses.html

* Solar Warp: http://www.solarwarp.net/detail/link-385824.html

* Business, Economy and Marketing: http://lcaphillyalumni.com/2011/02/15/business-strategisttv-personality-teams-up-with-score-to-help-grow-1-million-small-businesses/

* File Flight: http://www.fileflight.com/2011/02/08/business-strategisttv-personality-teams-up-with-score-to-help-grow-1/

* Examiner.com: http://www.examiner.com/web-news/wgntv?page=6

Welcome to the BenBella Books Press Room. Here you will find updated press coverage for each of our titles, including reviews, author interviews, and book and author events. For additional information or press inquiries, including requests for review copies and author interviews, contact Jennifer Canzoneri at jennifer@benbellabooks.com.

Our Books

Our Authors

Press Archive

See the recent press our titles have received

February 2011
S M T W T F S
« Jan   Mar »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728